Skip to main content

LCA Collection 160. Lutheran Minnesota Conference. Lake Superior District. Records of the Lake Superior District, 1887-1962: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lutheran Minnesota Conference.  Lake Superior District.  Records of the Lake Superior District, 1887-1962.  LCA Collection 160.  2 half Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Lake Superior District collection includes minutes from district meetings and district correspondence.  The Lake Superior District of the Lutheran Minnesota Conference of the Augustana Synod was located in Northwest Wisconsin.  It included parts of Ashland, Bayfield, and Douglas counties.  Duluth Mission District formed during 1887 and divided into the Lake Superior and St. Croix Valley Districts in 1891.  As a result of these transitions, some materials from the Duluth Mission District are found in this collection.  The Lake Superior District was located originally in Northeast Minnesota and Northwest Wisconsin.  In 1912, the Minnesota congregations broke off to form the Duluth District, leaving Wisconsin congregations in the Lake Superior District.  Duluth District dissolved back into the Lake Superior District during 1958.  Some of this collection is in Swedish.

District Map

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License