Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 168. Lindberg, Peter Mathias. Sermons, Papers, and Materials of Rev. Peter M. Lindberg, 1875-1918: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lindberg, Peter Mathias.  Sermons, Papers, and Materials of Rev. Peter M. Lindberg, 1875-1918.  LCA Collection 168.  1 Records Center Carton.

ABSTRACT:
The Sermons, Papers, and Materials of Rev. Peter M. Lindberg collection contains items from his education at Augustana College and Seminary, as well as sermons and outlines from service as a minister.  Also included are pieces related to the Immanuel Deaconess Institute of Omaha, Nebraska where he served as Superintendent. Materials are in both Swedish and English.  The collection is organized chronologically.

Biographical Note

Peter Mathias Lindberg was born in Liden, Medelpad, Sweden on 24 May 1864, immigrating to America with his family in 1881.  He enrolled in St. Ansgar’s Academy at Carver, Minnesota and entered Augustana College in 1882, later receiving his ordination from the Augustana Theological Seminary in 1889.  He married Maria Charlotta Olson on 29 August 1889.  Lindberg served congregations in Menominee, Michigan; Marinette, Wisconsin; and Immanuel in Omaha, Nebraska, and also served as president of the Nebraska Conference.  He returned to the Augustana Theological Seminary as a professor of Christianity and served as the Superintendant of the Deaconess Institue in Omaha and member of the Augustana Board of Directors.  Lindberg died on 6 August 1918.

Information obtained from http://www.augustana.edu/x17947.xml on 26 March 2013.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License