Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 188. Krantz, Johan Ander. Speeches and Papers of Rev. Johan A. Krantz, 1887-1941: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Krantz, Johan Ander.  Speeches and Papers of Rev. Johan A. Krantz, 1887-1941.  LCA Collection 188.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Rev. Johan A. Krantz collection contains congregational officer records listing individuals who performed duties in various Minnesota Conference districts of the Augustana Lutheran Church.  In addition there is information about new congregations, speeches, notebooks, a biography of Krantz, and a family history.  The majority of the collection consists of correspondence, some of which is in Swedish.  Inventories of individual contents of this collection are also included.  Krantz was president of the Minnesota Conference and served on the Swedish Board of Education for Gustavus Adolphus College.

Biographical Note

Johan Ander Krantz was born in Sweden during 1857 and settled in Minnesota in 1869.  He graduated Augustana College in 1883, Augustana Seminary in 1885, and was ordained that year.  Krantz served as pastor in Salt Lake City, Utah, and in many Minnesota congregations.  From 1905-1913 e was secretary, and later president, of the Minnesota Conference, and worked on the Swedish Lutheran Board of Education for Gustavus Adolphus College from 1905-1910.  Krantz organized more than fifty churches during his ministry.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License