Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 189. Fremling, Johan. Papers of Rev. Johan Fremling, 1883-1905: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Fremling, Johan.  Papers of Rev. Johan Fremling, 1883-1905.  LCA Collection 189.  2 Records Center Cartons and 1 Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Rev. Johan Fremling collection contains correspondence and reports.  Letter inventories are also included in the collection.  Fremling was an important Minnesota Conference pastor and served on the Swedish Lutheran Board of Education of Gustavus Adolphus College. Most materials are written in Swedish.

Biographical Note

Johan Fremling, also known as John, was born in 1842 in Sweden and settled in America during 1867.  He was ordained in Chisago Lake, Minnesota in 1871.  He worked as a pastor in Sweden and in Minnesota for 46 years, receiving an honorary Doctorate of Divinity from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1900.  He also served as the Lutheran Minnesota Conference President and was a member on the Swedish Lutheran Board of Education of Gustavus.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License