Skip to main content

LCA Collection 191. Olson, Carl Gustaf. Papers of Rev. Carl G. Olson and Family, 1862-1978: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Olson, Carl Gustaf.  Papers of Rev. Carl G. Olson and Family, 1862-1978.  LCA Collection 191.  2 Records Center Cartons and 1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Rev. Carl G. Olson and Family collection contains correspondence, sermons, writings, addresses, school assignment notebooks, programs, Anti-Saloon League materials, and materials from Thabor Lutheran Church in Wausa, Nebraska.  Rev. Carl Olson (1862-1943) was a pastor in the Augustana Lutheran Church.  After coursework at both Augustana College and Gustavus Adolphus College and graduating from Augustana Seminary, he worked at churches in Illinois, Kansas, Nebraska, Minnesota, and New York.  This collection also has biographical materials and correspondence from his family members, including his wives, in-laws, children, nieces and nephews, and grandchildren.

Biographical Note

Carl Gustaf Olson was born 16 May 1862 in Sweden and came to America in 1870, settling in Malmo, Nebraska.  Olson entered Augustana College in 1878 and transferred to Gustavus Adolphus College in 1879.  Later, he attended Augustana Seminary and was ordained 24 June 1888.  He married Jennie Monson four days later.  They had six children, Evodia (Mrs. Victor Swenson), Maurice, Ebba (Mrs. George Campbell), Carl A., Luther, and Herman.  Jennie died 28 March 1907.  In 1913 Rev. Olson married Signe Carlson, they had one daughter, Martha (Mrs. Gilbert Benzon and later Mrs. Russel Gustafson).  Rev. Olson served parishes in Illinois, Kansas, Nebraska, Minnesota, and New York from his ordination in 1888 until his retirement in 1939.  He died in Minneapolis, Minnesota on 13 February 1943.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into two series, Carl G. Olson and the Olson Family.

Carl G. Olson series holds materials related to Rev. Olson.  It is divided into three subseries.  Some materials related to him can also be found in the Olson Family series.

Correspondence, 1880s-1930s: has both incoming and outgoing correspondence.  The correspondence is organized chronologically and then alphabetically by surname.

Sermons, Writings, and Address, 1880s-1942: contains notes for sermons, writing on various subjects, and addresses given by Rev. Olson.  This series is organized chronologically.

Miscellaneous, 1879-1930s: consists of materials for the Anti-Saloon League in Nebraska, school assignment notebooks, programs, and subscription lists.  Also included are materials from Thabor Lutheran Church in Wausa, Nebraska, where Rev. Olson was a pastor.  This series is arranged alphabetically.

Olson Family series contains biographical materials, correspondence, and photographs of people from relatives of Rev. Olson.  These include his wives, children, in-laws, nieces and nephews, and grandchildren (family tree included on last page.)  This series is arranged alphabetically.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License