Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 193. Lutheran Church in America. Minnesota Synod. Annual Convention Minutes, Reports, and Related Papers of the Minnesota Synod, 1962-1987: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lutheran Church in America.  Minnesota Synod.  Annual Convention Minutes, Reports, and Related Papers of the Minnesota Synod, 1962-1987.  LCA Collection 193.  2 Records Center Cartons.

ABSTRACT:
The Minnesota Synod Minutes and Reports collection contains the published minutes, bulletin of reports, and some supplements to the bulletins of reports from the Synod’ annual conventions.  Included in the minute books and bulletins of reports are directories, necrologies, convention agendas and programs, financial reports, elections, reports from various committees and affiliated church bodies, and congregational reports.

Organization Note

The Minnesota Synod was created in 1962 with the consolidation of The Lutheran Minnesota Conference of the Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church and The English Evangelical Lutheran Synod of the Northwest.  According to the Synod’s constitution “The territory of the Synod shall be that part of Minnesota which is bounded on the north and west by the northern and western boundary lines of Lac Qui Parle, Swift, Pope, Stearns, Morrison, Cass, Itasca, and Koochiching counties.”*  The Minnesota Synod was part of the Lutheran Church in America, which was created in 1962 and existed until 1987 when the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America was created.

*Minnesota Synod of the Lutheran Church in America.  Minutes of the First Convention, September 10-11, 1962.  Mount Olivet Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License