Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 197. Augustana Lutheran Church. Annual Convention Minutes, Reports, and Related Papers of the Augustana Lutheran Church, 1860-1962: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Augustana Lutheran Church.  Annual Convention Minutes, Reports, and Related Papers of the Augustana Lutheran Church, 1860-1962.  LCA Collection 197.  3 Records Center Cartons and 1 Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Augustana Lutheran Church Minutes and Reports collection contains the published minutes, reports, and some supplements to the reports from the Church’s annual conventions.  Included in the minute books and reports are convention agendas and programs, financial reports, and reports from various committees and affiliated church bodies.

Historical Note

The Scandinavian Evangelical Augustana Lutheran Synod, more commonly known as the Augustana Synod, was formed in 1860 by nineteen Swedish and Norwegian pastors.  Originally part of the Lutheran Synod of Northern Illinois, the Augustana Synod was formed as a separate church body due to both theological disagreements and to advance the interests of Scandinavian Lutherans in America.  In 1870 the Norwegians broke from the Swedes and created their own church, leaving the Augustana Synod completely Swedish.*

In 1948, the Synod changed its name to The Augustana Lutheran Church.  In 1962, the Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church merged with the United Lutheran Church in America (ULCA), the Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (Suomi Synod), and the American Evangelical Lutheran Church (AELC) to from the Lutheran Church in America, which existed until 1987 when the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America was created.

*The Augustana Story: Shaping Lutheran Identity in North America by Maria Erling and Mark Granquist, 2008.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License