Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 234. Mattson, Peter August. Papers of Rev. P.A. Mattson, 1890-1944: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Mattson, Peter August.  Correspondence, Sermons, and Materials of Rev. P.A. Mattson, 1890-1944.  LCA Collection 234.  11 Record Center Cartons.

ABSTRACT:
The Papers of Rev. P.A. Mattson collection is primarily composed of correspondence, but also includes documents, scrapbooks, and records spanning his life.  The majority of the collection dates from the course of his career as a Lutheran minister, president of Gustavus Adolphus College from 1904-11, and president of the Minnesota Conference, Augustana Synod from 1913-39.  Materials are printed in both Swedish and English.

Biographical Note

Peter August Mattson was born 29 September 1865 in Sweden. He immigrated to the United States at the age of sixteen.  He graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1892 and was later ordained through the Augustana Seminary during 1894.  He married Annie Olson in 1895.   Mattson served as president of Gustavus Adolphus College from 1904-11 and received his doctorate from the University of Minnesota in 1906.  He was president of the Minnesota Conference of the Augustana Synod from 1913-39.  Mattson died 4 April 1944 in Hopkins, Minnesota.

Information obtained from the Historical Note of LCA Collection 120.

Scope and Content

This collection is decided into four series:

  • Correspondence, 1890-1941
  • Correspondence Inventories, 1890-1941
    • (detailing the names contents of the Correspondence series),
  • Sermons and Speeches, 1907-1939
  • Scrapbooks & Miscellaneous, 1894-1944
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License