Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 246. Stump, Joseph. Papers of Rev. Joseph Stump, 1887-1935: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Stump, Joseph.  Papers of Rev. Joseph Stump, 1887-1935.  LCA Collection 246.  2 Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Papers of Rev. Joseph Stump collection contains sermons, essays, and correspondence.  Stump served as the president of the Northwestern Lutheran Seminary in Minneapolis, Minnesota, from 1920 until his death in 1935.                 

Biographical Note

Joseph Stump was born 1866 in Marietta, Pennsylvania.  He graduated from Capital University in Columbus, Ohio and later from Lutheran Theological Seminary in Philadelphia.  Stump received honorary degrees from Muhlenberg College in Pennsylvania, Carthage College in Illinois, and Capitol University.  In 1891 he married Alice A. Cooper.  He served as a minister in Great Bend, Pennsylvania, and Ephrata, Pennsylvania, and Phillipsburg, New Jersey and held a position as professor of Systemic Theology in the Chicago Lutheran Theological Seminary.  Stump published several books and served as President of the Northwestern Lutheran Theological Seminary from 1920 until his death in 1935.  He was survived by six children.

Information obtained from newspaper obituary clippings included in the collection.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License