Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 248. Hulstrand, George E. Collection of George E. Hulstrand, 1942-1978: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Hulstrand, George E.  Collection of George E. Hulstrand, 1942-1978.  LCA Collection 248.  1 Records Center Carton.

ABSTRACT:
The George Hulstrand collection consists of numerous scrapbooks of church conventions and three concerning Gustavus Adolphus College one of which documents the World War II collegiate sports ban.  Also included is correspondence from Hulstrand’s time on the Gustavus Board of Trustees.

Biographical Note

George E. Hulstrand was born in 1919 and graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College during 1943.  He served on the Gustavus Board from 1957-66 and as Chair during the 1963-66 period.  Hulstrand graduated from Yale Law School and practiced law for more than 60 years in Willmar, Minnesota, before retiring in 2010.  He died at the age of 94 on 19 February 2013.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into two series: Lutheran Church and Gustavus Adolphus College.

Lutheran Church, 1950-1974: This series is comprised of scrapbooks and memorabilia from conventions of the Minnesota Conference of the Augustan Lutheran Church, the Minnesota Synod of the Lutheran Church in America (LCA), the Augustana Lutheran Church, and the LCA.

Gustavus Adolphus College, 1942-1978: This series includes George Hulstrand’s correspondence while on the Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College and scrapbooks of the college including the sports ban of the 1940’s.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License