Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 249. Rubrecht, George Keller. Papers of Rev. George Keller Rubrecht, 1900-1934: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Rubrecht, George Keller.  Papers of Rev. George Keller Rubrecht, 1900-1934.  LCA Collection 249.  2 Hollinger boxes and ½ legal Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Papers of Rev. George Keller Rubrecht collection contains correspondence which encompasses contact with ministers involved in the Northwest Synod as well as individuals beyond the synod jurisdiction and several personal letters.  Also included are committee materials and reports from his career in the ministry, as well as his service as President of the Northwest Synod from 1917-1927.   

Biographical Note

Reverend George Keller Rubrecht was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on 25 December, 1877 to John Adam and Sarah Catherine (Keller).  He graduated from Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Pennsylvania in 1901 and completed graduate work at Columbia University in 1902 before attending Philadelphia Seminary and becoming ordained in 1905, and received his Doctorate of Divinity in 1922 from Carthage College.  Rubrecht married Nora H. Brobst on 26 October 1905 in Allentown, and his son Kenneth Rubrecht was born in 1909.  Rubrecht served as President of the Northwest Synod from 1917-1927, following the term of Rev. A.F. Elmquist and preceding Rev. R.H. Gerberding.

Biographical information obtained on 11/17/2014 from http://wc.rootsweb.ancestry.com/cgi-bin/igm.cgi?op=GET&db=brobst&id=I12827

Scope and Content

This collection has been divided into three series: Correspondence with Pastors of the Synod of the Northwest, Correspondence outside the Synod of the Northwest, and Committees, Reports, and Miscellaneous Materials.

Correspondence with Pastors of the Synod the Northwest, 1903-1930 contains communications with clergy within the Synod of the Northwest.

Correspondence outside the Synod of the Northwest, 1912-1928 includes letters and correspondence with individuals and organizations beyond the organization of the Synod of the Northwest.

Committees, Reports, and Miscellaneous Materials, 1900-1930 holds a variety of materials from involved committees in the Synod of the Northwest, in addition to reports and miscellaneous materials.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License