Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 253. Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. Southwestern Minnesota Synod. Assembly Materials of the Southwestern Minnesota Synod, 1987-1988: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.  Southwestern Minnesota Synod.  Assembly Materials of the Southwestern Minnesota Synod, 1987-1988.  LCA Collection 253.  3 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Assembly Materials of the Southwestern Minnesota Synod collection contains information issued to delegates in attendance for both the Constituting Convention in 1987 and the first Assembly in the following year.  Materials include itineraries and procedural explanations for voting and the conduct of meetings.  The collection also holds programs from worship services held during the convention and brochures and reports from affiliated programs and institutions.   

Historical Note

The Constituting Convention of the Southwestern Minnesota Synod, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) was held on the campus of Gustavus Adolphus College in 1987.  Participants addressed financial matters and considered materials for developing the new synod’s constitution.  Reports from affiliated organizations were also shared with delegates.  As of 2014 the Southwestern Minnesota Synod is one of six ELCA synods within Minnesota and encompasses 247 individual congregations.

Information obtained on 13 January 2015 from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southwestern_Minnesota_Synod

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License