Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 259. United Lutheran Church in America. English Evangelical Synod of the Northwest. Materials of the Minnesota State Luther League, 1899-1962: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

United Lutheran Church in America.  English Evangelical Synod of the Northwest.  Materials of the Minnesota State Luther League, 1899-1962.  LCA Collection 259.  2 ½ Hollinger boxes, 1 flat box, and 1 oversize folder.

ABSTRACT:
The collection of the Minnesota State Luther League contains a range of materials, spanning from convention documents from various local, state, regional, and national Luther League gatherings.  Included are meeting minutes, officer training guides, publications, camp information, banquet programs, pamphlets, and notes about mission involvement.  Photographs, committee reports, and other miscellaneous documents and promotional materials are also included. 

Historical Note

According to a published booklet for advisors in the series “Guides to Luther League of America,” the Luther League served as the “official youth auxiliary” of the United Lutheran Church in America. Individual Luther League organizations were considered subordinate to the congregations through which they were established.  When the booklet was published the league consisted of 32 leagues within five districts.  The organization was divided into Education, Missions, and Life Service departments.  The program defined itself as an educational effort for age groups including “Intermediaries” of ages 12-14, “Seniors” of ages 15-17, and “Young People” of ages 18 and over.

The first annual convention of the Minnesota State Luther League occurred in 1898.

A video entitled “Luther League 90 Years Young,” produced in 1985 and released by the ELCA Archives indicates that the Luther League gathered for the first time as a national organization in 1895 in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania and was the first national youth group organization.  The Luther League became internationally affiliated with the involvement of a Canadian chapter in 1922.  In 1960 the name of the national organization changed to the Luther League of the ALC.

Video “Luther League 90 Years Young” accessed on 26 May 2015 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NOdUZVUJy-A 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License