Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 260. Lutheran Resettlement Service of Minnesota. Correspondence of the Lutheran Resettlement Service of Minnesota, 1947-1955: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lutheran Resettlement Service of Minnesota.  Correspondence of the Lutheran Resettlement Service of Minnesota, 1947-1955.  LCA Collection 260.  5 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Lutheran Resettlement Service of Minnesota correspondence collection contains applications, correspondence, meeting agendas and minutes, and publications.  The Lutheran Resettlement Service of Minnesota was sponsored by the Lutheran Welfare Society (now Lutheran Social Service) for the purpose of helping displaced persons find new homes and employment in Minnesota after World War II.  The National Lutheran Council, a pan-Lutheran organization, was also involved with resettling refugees, some of their publications are included here.  Much of this collection is correspondence between the Resettlement Service and Scandian Grove Lutheran Church located near Norseland, Minnesota.  Scandian Grove members sponsored many Latvian refugees, often in partnership with enployees of Gustavus Adolphus College.  From 1948-1953 the Lutheran Welfare Society helped resettle 3,000 refugees from Europe.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License