Skip to main content

LCA Collection 274. Lutheran Church in America. Foreign Missions of the Lutheran Church in America, 1962-1984: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lutheran Church in America.  Foreign Missions of the Lutheran Church in America, 1962-1984.  LCA Collection 274.  2 Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Foreign Missions of the Lutheran Church in America collection contains, minutes, narratives, and programs regarding the church’s foreign mission work generally in Africa and Asia.  Also included are materials related to plans and ideas occurring in the United States regarding missionary work.

Scope and Content

This series is divided into five series: Administration, Global Mission Events, Interdependence, Missions, and Miscellaneous.

Administration, 1964-1984 holds correspondence, reports, newsletters, and handbooks relating to fundraising and foreign mission work.

Global Mission Events, 1975-1981 consists of programs and planning materials for this annual event.  Global Mission Events were opportunities for congregants to learn more about the global mission of the Lutheran Church in America.

Interdependence, 1975-1983 contains issues of this newsletter out of Winthrop, Minnesota edited by Rev. Dwight R. Johnson under the auspices of the Commission on World Outreach and Service of the Minnesota Synod.  The newsletter focused on missionaries and their work.

Missions, 1962-1977 includes narratives, newsletters, and biographies of missionaries.

Miscellaneous, 1964-1980 has various materials about possible foreign trips, visiting international guests, and paperwork pertaining to talks and articles.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License