Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 283. Lutheran Church in America. Women’s Organizations of the Lutheran Church in America, 1971-1986: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lutheran Church in America.  Women’s Organizations of the Lutheran Church in America, 1971-1986.  LCA Collection 283.  1 Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Women’s Organizations of the Lutheran Church in America collection consists of booklets from Lutheran Church Women’s triennial conventions that contain convention programs, department reports, attendance information, recommendations from the Board of Directors, etc.  The collection contains a Lutheran Church Women’s Guide that addresses the purpose, planning, education, and finances, as well as containing administration and LCW constitution information.  In addition, there is a book for Leadership-Membership Development that addresses leadership, group behavior, learning, planning, communications, etc.  There are materials that help leaders plan programs and improve the LCW, such as the Program Resource Collection books and a Handbook for Congregational Organization.  Also included are volumes from the Guidelines newsletter, brochures, and a list LCW delegates.

Historical Note

After the Augustana Lutheran Church merged into the Lutheran Church in America, the Augustana Lutheran Church Women coalesced into the Lutheran Church Women.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License