Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 287. Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (Suomi Synod). Collection of the Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Church of America, 1886-1962: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (Suomi Synod). Collection of the Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Church of America, 1886-1962.  LCA Collection 287.  5 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Church of America collection consists mainly of Kirkollinen Kalenteri, calendars used in the Finnish Churches that would indicate days and seasons of fasting and festivals in the Christian religion.  Also included are hymnbooks, letters, official documents, list of congregations, and various publications from the Suomi Synod.

Historical Note

The Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (FELC), also known as the Suomi Synod, was organized at Calumet, Michigan in 1890. In 1896, the church established Suomi College and Theological Seminary, now called Finlandia University, in Hancock, Michigan.  In 1962, the FELC along with other Lutheran-church bodies merged into the Lutheran Church in America (LCA).  The LCA would then be part of the merger that created the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) in 1988.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License