Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 288. Bergren, J. Henry. Ministerial Acts of Rev. J. Henry Bergren, 1929-1977: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Bergren, J. Henry.  Ministerial Acts of Rev. J. Henry Bergren, 1929-1977.  LCA Collection 288.  1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Ministerial Acts of Rev. J. Henry Bergren collection contains a single bound volume.  The ledger contains records of baptisms, marriages, burials, etc. that he ministered from 1929 to 1977 in numerous Minnesota communities and Freeborn, Washington.

Biographical Note

Rev. Bergren was ordained 9 June 1929 at First Lutheran in Rockford, Illinois.  During his career, he served in the following places:

  • 15 July 1929 – 15 January 1933, Swedlanda, Hector, MN
  • 16 January 1933 – 15 November 1939, Salem, St. Cloud, MN
  • 15 November 1939 – 1 October 1941, Chisago Lake, Center City, MN
  • 1 October 1941 – 1 August 1950, Lutheran Bible Institute, Minneapolis, MN
  • 1 August 1950 – 1 July 1959, First Ostmark, Litchfield, MN
  • 1 July 1959 – 1 August 1961, First, Litchfield, MN
  • 1 August 1961 – 1 November 1966, Elim, Scandia, MN
  • 1 November 1966 – 10 September 1973. Redeemer, Fridley, MN
  • 21 October 1973 – 1 November 1976, Freeborn, Stanwood, WA

He died 8 June 1977 in Edmonds, Washington.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License