Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 289. First Lutheran Church of Lafayette, Minnesota. Collection of First Lutheran Church of Lafayette, Minnesota, 1964-1986: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

First Lutheran Church of Lafayette, Minnesota.  Collection of First Lutheran Church of Lafayette, Minnesota, 1964-1986.  LCA Collection 289.  ½ Hollinger box and 1 small flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The First Lutheran Church of Lafayette, Minnesota collection consists of two recipe books from 1964 and 1986 and a commemorative plate from 1972.

Historical Note

Written on the back of the commemorative plate:
“The Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church was organized January 2, 1897 at Lafayette, Minnesota.  Pastor H.O. Hemming led a congregational meeting on January 31st.  The constitution was recorded and the charter members signed.  Our church was built, completed and dedicated by November 10, 1897, with a membership of 106.  The first resident Pastor F.E. Sard came on September 9, 1900.  The present membership is 393.  The Educational unit was dedicated [in] 1966.  The Narthex in 1971.  Thirteen pastors have served at First Lutheran Lafayette.”

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License