Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the research guide for Model UN! I've put together a number of resources that will help you investigate your country & related topics. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at any point in your research. I can help you develop a research strategy, identify the right places to look, and troubleshoot any research issue that arises. My contact info is beneath my picture on the right.
The American Model United Nations (AMUN) also has a research guide with many excellent resources to help with your research.
Use these databases to explore topics related to your country, as well as information about the countries themselves. Use the Search Tips &. Tracking Down Materials tabs (above) for tips on how to best find and access materials.
CIAO (International affairs) This link opens in a new window
The best place to search for topics related to your country and the broader scope of international affairs.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
Covers global contemporary public policy issues, ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. Draws on scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and reference works.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
WDI is a database of global information and statistics compiled yearly.
Country Specific Resources
Here you'll find links to resources about specific countries, including the United States. While these are all very useful resources, make sure to consult the Regional Surveys of the World set, which is highly recommended.
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Use the World Atlas and Compare Countries links in this online encyclopedia to find statistics and other information related to your country.
From the Website: "Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions."
Foreign Trade Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau trade statistics.
International Social Survey Programme
This resource is an excellent source of statistical information on a wide variety of subjects in the social sciences, including the environment, national identity, social networks, family and changing gender roles, religion, leisure, and the role of government. Data is collected from 43 countries around the world and made available to researchers in raw form for further study. This website also includes a comprehensive bibliography of publications using ISSP data.
Regional Surveys of the World
This multi-volume set provides excellent and informative information on countries of the world, including geographical, historical, political, economic, and statistical information. Each entry also contains a directory of governmental and non-governmental organizations. Older volumes are shelved in the General and/or Oversize collection; recent volumes are shelved in Reference: Africa South of the Sahara Ref DT 351 .A37, Central and South-Eastern Europe Ref HC 244 .A1 C46, Eastern Europe, Russia, and Central Asia Ref HC 244 .A1 E29, The Far East and Australasia Ref DS1 .F3, The Middle East and North Africa DS 49 .M62, South America, Central American, and the Caribbean F 1401 .S28, Western Europe HC 240 .A1 W47
Statistical Abstract of the World - Ref HA 154 .S83
Presents data on over 180 countries, covering geography, demographics, education, science and technology, government and law, and economics. Sources for all data are noted, and an appendix lists and describes sources, offering important leads to additional data.
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web
A cleanly-organized and helpful guide to US and world statistical sources. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
United Nations Statistics Division
Links to statistics on trade, demographics, social issues, energy, the environment and industry.
World Bank Data
Searchable by topic or country, provides statistical data on agriculture, education, the environment, health, industry, poverty, and many other topics.
World Factbook (CIA)
Provides country profiles.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License