Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SCRB Collection 014. Bartholomew, Charles L. Editorial Cartoons by “Bart,” 1890-1920: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Collection Description

Bartholomew, Charles L.  Editorial Cartoons by “Bart,” 1890-1920.  SCRB Collection 14.  1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Editorial Cartoons by “Bart” collection contains 52 original drawings of editorial cartoons.    Charles L. Bartholomew, more commonly known as “Bart,” drew these cartoons for the Minneapolis Journal.  Also included in this collection are copies of the cartoons often with photocopies of the original paper they were published.

Biographical Note

Charles Lewis Bartholomew was born 10 February 1869 in Chariton, Iowa.  After graduating from Iowa State College he began working as a reporter for the Minneapolis Journal before becoming a daily editorial cartoonist, commonly known as “Bart,” in the 1890s.  He published a cartoon almost every day between 1899 and 1915 with subjects ranging from the Spanish-American War to local Minnesota politics and weather.  Bartholomew was also Dean of the Federal School of Illustrating and Cartooning (now Art Instruction School), as well as a children’s book illustrator.  He died 15 February 1949 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License