Research isn't a linear, predictable process. We often hit roadblocks. Our search terms don't yield the results we hoped for. We find a great article but it's in a language we don't read or speak. We can't seem to find enough sources to answer our research question.
The problem is not hitting obstacles, it's giving up when we do. Research requires us to be flexible and adaptable. Above all, it requires us to persevere through roadblocks. Research is iterative, meaning we often need to repeat steps.
This page outlines some of the blocks you might hit, as well as ways to navigate those stumbling points. Rather than give up, I encourage you to take a step back, assess your search approach, and try something new. And please contact me with any issues - I can help you solve them!
The best way to discover the right search terms to use is to figure out how experts in the field are discussing the topic. There are many ways to do this:
Sometimes a particular word or phrase seems to unlock your search magically. As you explore your topic, keep an eye out for key words and phrases that the experts use. These words and phrases can be magical, as you've now got some of the words that experts use when they discuss your topic.
Once you identify some of these words and phrases, use them as search terms in various databases and the library catalog. Even if you've already searched these resources, try again with the specialized vocabulary and see if you find new resources. If you're having trouble, check with your instructor or a reference librarian.
Research is iterative, which means it is not a linear process. You will want to return to databases, google, and library catalogs again and again, especially as you refine your topics. You might discover new keywords that scholars use when describing the topic. You might find that one person has written several of your sources, meaning you've likely found someone who is an expert in the field.
In these cases, return to databases and other search engines that you've already searched. Search again with your refine tools and see if you uncover additional materials. So much depends on having the right search terms, which we don't always get until we've spent some time with the topic and related sources.
Librarians are personal research consultants. We can help you think through possible search terms, suggest specific resources to search, track down sources and point you in directions you may not have considered. There are many ways to get in touch with us.
Your professors are also here to help, plus they are experts in the field as well. So talk with them about your research & any problems you're having.
The most common issue you might encounter is accessing local data. It might exist but you might not be able to locate it. Not all local information will be posted online. In this case, you will need to contact appropriate people in your community to see if they can help. Your professor can help you identify potential kinds of people to ask, as can I. Browse the Local Information Sources box on the first page for more ideas.
If you are searching a local newspaper, you might hit a paywall. If you live in a bigger city, your local newspaper might be in Proquest US Newsstream. For smaller local papers, try Access World News database. (Both are linked on the "Wider Research" tab). Both databases let you search newspapers without running into paywalls. If you're having any issues access your local newspaper, email me (Julie) for help.
You might not be able to find local information, like statistics or demographic information, that matches what you're looking for exactly. Maybe you can find data for your county but not your town, for example. In some cases, you might need to piece together several pieces of information to prove your point. This is a great question to bring to your professor or me.
A great tip - whenever you're talking with a community member, ask them if there are other people you should talk to or if they have other suggestions for information you should consult.
It's easy - and normal - to default to resources that have worked in the past. If Google Scholar or Academic Search Premier helped us find materials for a project in a different course, we naturally would use it again. But be sure to expand your resources, too. There are a lot of specialized databases for various areas that you should use in addition to others that worked.
Scholars commonly explore the conversation surrounding their topics through bibliographic traces. Scholars read interesting studies or articles or books in their field; scholars then mine the citations in those works to find related research materials. They also look for more recent research materials that have cited the first resource. This page has more information on how to conduct a bibliographic trace.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
