It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your library guide to COM 120: Public Discourse! I designed this guide with your research needs in mind. On the Wider Research tab (above), you'll find recommendations for databases, websites, and other places to search for information about your problem. On this page, you'll find resources for finding information at the local level, no matter where your local level is. The rest of the guide has additional information to support your research. Spend some time exploring it!
Don't hesitate to ask if you've got questions! Send me an email - I enjoy helping you solve any research problems you have. We can work via email or set up a virtual or in person time to chat.
Chat with Us! (Fall Semester through Spring Semester only)
Chat reference service is available Monday - Thursday 10:30 - 4:30 & Fridays 10:30 - 2:30. We look forward to connecting with you! Contact us with any question about research or library services.
These times don't work for you? Prefer to connect via email or Google Meets? Visit our Reference Services page for more options to contact a librarian.
Local Information Sources
Here's a list of the kinds of organizations and groups that tend to have the kind of local information you're researching. Most communities will have some range of these resources, so do some web searching (and reach out to me) to explore.
Town/City Government - most towns will have a main government page where you should be able to find meeting minutes and other relevant info about how the town may/may not be addressing your problem
Public Library - your local library will be an excellent source for finding local information. Librarians know the communities they serve, so they will be able to point you to local resources you may not have considered. Give them a call or see if their website has an online contact form.
Local News Outlets - does your community have a local newspaper? What about a local television station? Check out their web pages to see if they've been discussing your problem. Also try searching via the Access World News database (linked on the Wider Research tab). Despite its name, it contains over 40 local MN papers, as well as smaller papers from other states.
School District or College - if your problem exists primarily within local schools, browse the website for the school district to see what information they have available. Do the same for any higher education institutions you are investigating - most will have links to meeting minutes, student newspapers, alumni magazines, offices & people who are involved in the problem.
Nonprofits - are there local nonprofit groups that might be discussing your problem? Search online to locate relevant ones for your community.
Faith communities - to what degree are you local churches, temples and mosques involved in this problem? Are there other faith communities that might be a part of this conversation?
Research in the Town Square
Finding Local Information
You're investigating a problem that affects your local community. Finding local information will take some persistence and creativity. Here are things to keep in mind:
What is the local community in which my problem exists? Is your problem primarily occurring in the schools? Is it a broader issue that a neighborhood or town or suburb is discussing? Define the context in which your problem exists.
Whose voices are most likely to be involved in discussing the problem? Are teachers in your local school involved? Parents? Elected officials? Clergy? Community leaders? Local health officials? Local nonprofit groups? Volunteer groups? Make a list of all the potential categories of people who would be involved in the conversation about your topic. Also note any specific individuals and their contact information, because you may want to contact them directly as part of your research.
Whose voices aren't being included in the conversations? Are there perspectives and people who aren't popping up in the research you are exploring? Whose voices do you expect to hear but aren't? Why might this be? It could indicate that the community isn't listening to key voices. It could also indicate that you haven't gone far enough in your research - the information could exist but you maybe haven't found it yet. This is a great time to reassess your research approach and discuss issues with your course professor or with me.
What tensions are you noting in the conversations? Where are you finding agreement? Disagreement? What do you make of this? How does it shape your understanding of your problem? How does the shape of the conversation influence how you're going to tell the story about your problem when you give your presentations? Remember, you are doing more than proving if a problem exists or not. You are outlining the contours of a conversation about your problem in order to share the conversation with others and to propose fitting solutions.
How would evidence of the problem - or conversations about the problem - likely be communicated or shared? Once you figure this out, you'll be past the hardest part of finding local information. For example, local newspapers report on issues within your community. School boards and town or city councils publish their minutes. Schools share some local data with the state-wide department of education. Many organizations post annual reports and other information on their websites. Keep in mind that some information may not be shared publicly, in which case contacting someone from your list above might be your best option for research. Use the Local Information Sources box to the left for more ideas and tips!
What are the best ways to access information and evidence about the problem? Build off your brainstorming from above. See if your local paper has a website. Check your school district or local government website to find meeting minutes. If your topic is health related, see if the local hospital's website has any information. Reach out to relevant individuals in your community for both information about the problem itself and to see if they have any additional ideas about sources or people to consult. Use the Local Information Sources box to the left for more ideas and tips!
Researching College & Universities
Like Gustavus, most colleges & universities will have a wealth of information available online. You'll need to do some digging, but here are examples of information sources at Gustavus. You will find most (if not all) of the same kinds of organizations and structures at other institutions.
Holdings from 1917-present (not all years available). Copies also held in the College Archives. Volumes from 1904-2000 also available digitally at: http://edu.arcasearch.com/usmngus/ .
The Quarterly provides news and information to the alumni and friends of Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota. Currently, editions are published in February, May, August, and November. Information includes generally a message from the president, coverage of sports, general news, and a longer article. A partial index exists within the College Archives.
Hello! I look forward to working with you. If you have any questions about research, an assignment, or the library in general, please contact me - (jgilber2 @ gustavus.edu). You can also reach any of the reference librarians at folke @ gustavus.edu or via the Ask Us! button on the library's homepage.
In the US, many states have robust websites that will contain - among other things - information and statistics about local communities. It may take a little digging to uncover the information you're looking for, but be persistent and contact me if you need help. I've listed some examples from the State of Minnesota & the US government below; use these or see if you can find relevant pages for different states OR countries, depending on your community:
State of Minnesota is the web portal to exploring resources provided by the state; most states will have a similar portal. Spend some time searching to find information, statistics, and the agencies and individuals who might be talking about your problem.
USA.gov is the US government's official web portal. If your local community is not within the US, see if your country has a similar portal (most will), as well as searching your local province or state websites.
US Census Bureau provides access to all kinds of data from US communities; look for options to search local data