LibGuides: SPA 321: Faces of Spain: Finding Articles

Spanish Language Databases

ClasePeriodica This link opens in a new window
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, these databases cover 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Google Académico This link opens in a new window
The Spanish version of Google Scholar is helpful because you can easily limit your search to Spanish-language sources.

Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries (Interlibrary Loan - ILL)

Requests for articles, chapters, and other copies are being filled like normal.
Requests for loans of physical items are still somewhat limited – we appreciate your patience and ask that you observe a temporary limit of 10 active ILLs at a time.
Please expect delays (even for copies). Staffing levels at institutions across the country are still varied and will continue to be fluid in the months ahead.
E-books are not available via ILL; we can obtain the print version or we can request a few sections to be copied for you.
Physical items can be picked up at the Information Desk in the library; contactless pick-up is available for those that request it.
ILLs you no longer need can be returned to the Information Desk in the library or via the library’s book drop in the foyer.
Please request renewals on materials promptly - you'll receive email notices to remind you.
Email Sonja Timmerman (stimmer2@gustavus.edu) with any ILL questions.

Getting Started

Finding sources about your topic will require some creativity, curiosity, and willingness to track down promising articles and books in lists of works cited. Feel free to get in touch - my email contact is right over there -->)

if you get stuck or need to kick some ideas around. I'll try to respond quickly.

General Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major research resource for information on English literature, foreign languages and linguistics. Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations; coverage dates back to the 1920's.
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Click the "Find it at Gustavus" button to link to the full text or to make an interlibrary loan request. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."

We have many specialized databases, too. You can see them on our subject guides, as a librarian at the reference desk, or email me for suggestions.

Librarian

Dan Mollner

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences, Film and Media Studies, French, Geology, German, Japanese, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies, Music, Russian, Sociology and Anthropology, Spanish

Ask Us!

24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.

Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.

E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)