LibreTexts is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to freeing the textbook from the limitations and costs of traditional textbooks.
The Metafinder - Although there is no comprehensive way to search for open course materials, this tool (from George Mason University) provides a one-stop search of most major repositories, including OER Commons, OpenStax, and BC Commons.
OASIS is a meta-search engine of 97 OER sources developed by and provided by Geneseo-SUNY.
Open Access Digital Library is a directory including more than "12,000 journals from over 80 databases. All content is free to the end user. The best way to use this site is to search by name for a particular journal."
JSTOR's Open Community Collections feature Open Access primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.
OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation. OpenStax publishes peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are free online and low cost in print.
Open Textbook Library is a multidisciplinary curated list of open textbooks. It is a great place to find best-bet texts in your discipline. The standards for inclusion in the Open Textbook Library are that the book must be available to download at no cost and/or printed at low cost and that it must be used at multiple higher education institutions; or be in some other way associated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. Additionally, many of these books have been reviewed by faculty to assess their quality.
QUBES (Quantitative Undergraduate Biology Education and Synthesis) hosts hundreds of STEM-focused teaching materials, reference materials, and cloud-based software free to use and adapts using open Creative Commons licenses.
Springer Open is a repository of open-access journals covering a wide range of disciplines.
Library faculty members are happy to help you find OER for your courses. Please contact your library liaison to discuss options.
24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.
Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.
Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.
E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)
From the BC Open Campus, provides an excellent checklist and suggestions for evaluating OER in your course.
OER Evaluation Tool Handbook (from Achieve)
This handbook has been designed to walk a user through the process of evaluating an online resource using the Achieve Open Education Resources Rubrics.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
