LibGuides: HIS 244: History of Intersex (ST): Newspapers and Periodicals: The Popular Press

Newspapers and Periodicals: The Popular Press

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new window
These collections include digitized images of American magazines and journals documenting the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Includes content published between 1684 and 1912. Access to collections 1-5 is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).

Daily Globe (St. Paul, Minn.) 1878-1884
Available through the Library of Congress Chronicling America online collection.

Gustavian Weekly (newspaper) (1891-May 2021) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text and pdf page images of the Gustavus Adolphus College newspaper. Issues from January 1891 through May 2021 are digitally archived here. This site also searches the Gustavian yearbook (1904-2015). More recent print editions of the newspaper are retained in both the library and archives.

Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922)
Includes the Minneapolis Daily Tribune (1867-77), Tribune (1877-82), Daily Minnesota Tribune (1882-84), Minneapolis Daily Tribune (1884-86), Minneapolis Tribune (1886-1909), and Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1909-30).
Minneapolis Journal (Minneapolis, Minn.)1888-1939
Available through the Library of Congress Chronicling America online collection.
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that provides access to hundreds of thousands of pages of Minnesota newspapers. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1856 and 1922. (Due to copyright law, newspapers published after 1922 can only be accessed on site at the Minnesota History Center.)
Missouri Digital Newspaper Project
Through a collaboration of several libraries, this archive reproduces selected contents of a variety of newspapers from one state, providing digital images of original and close-ups of specific stories. Searchable by keyword.

New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
The full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago -- covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper back to the first issue. The newspaper text is fully indexed and searchable and the database also contains full-page images, including graphics.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature - Ref AI 3 .P7 1938 (6 vols.)
An index to the contents of periodicals published in the nineteenth century in England and America. Covers 1802-1881, with supplements that cover through 1906. Though less easy to use than later indexes, it offers access to articles in popular periodicals by subject. Headings are not always easy to guess--the Civil War, for example, is found under United States--Civil War.
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature - Reference A13 .R28
Indexes articles and reviews from a range of magazines. A separate book review index is located after the general index.
St. Paul Daily Globe (St. Paul, Minn.) 1884-1896
Available through the Library of Congress Chronicling America online collection.
St. Paul Globe (St. Paul, Minn.) 1896-1905
Available through the Library of Congress Chronicling America online collection.

Email Me

Contact:

You can find me in the College and Lutheran Church Archives, the offices above the library's main entrance.

Subjects: Archives, Environmental Studies, Geography, Greek, Latin & Classical Studies, Gustavus History, History, Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies, Special Collections and Rare Books