Finding full copies of sources has become one of the biggest hurdles in conducting research, especially if you are looking for articles. With the internet, it's easy to find if a source exists, but often you can only access sources through a library. The software systems involved are complicated and don't always communicate well with each other. Plus you often end up on publishers' websites, where they want you to pay for an article.
Use the information on this page to track down full copies of materials. Sometimes it's easy and other times it's more complicated. Please ask for help if you hit a roadblock - this is one of the most common issues in research today and the reference librarians are experts in helping you overcome these obstacles. Contact any of us with questions (and you are always welcome to email Anna directly at email@example.com).
You can request books and articles from other libraries, a service known as Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This is a fantastic way to extend your research collection beyond the walls of our library. ILL is free for you. All you need to make a request is your Gustavus user name and password.
To request an article from a database, search within the database, identify the article you want, and - if it's not already full text in the database - click the yellow FindIt! button.
The FindIt! button essentially does three things:
When you request the item from another library, you'll be prompted to log on with your Gustavus user name and password. This takes you to a form, which you will submit to create the ILL request. Articles are sent electronically; it typically takes only a day or two for articles to be emailed from the lending library to you.
To find books at other libraries, first search the Gustavus Library catalog. As you are looking at the results list, look at the options on the left hand side. Under Library, set the box to Libraries Worldwide. When you find a book that we don't have in our library, click the title. From there, look for the Request from another library button (under Access Options) & follow the prompts to log in with your Gustavus user name and password to request the book.
You can also use the Advanced Search and set the search to "Libraries Worldwide" - this option is near the bottom of the screen.
Books are physically shipped between libraries. It can take around a week for this to happen so please plan ahead. You will get an email when the book arrives to pick up at the Library's Information Desk. (Return ILL books to the Library once you're done.)
If anything goes wonky with this process, please ask. Ask a reference librarian, email Anna directly at firstname.lastname@example.org, or come to the front desk of the library. There are enough odd hiccups in how the systems talk to each other that things sometimes go off track. We want to help you solve any issues you have accessing the hard copies of sources.
There are many ways to find books, also depending on where you're starting.
If you have a book citation, like from a bibliography or a recommendation from a professor:
In many cases, before you can track down full copies of materials, you need to know what kind of source you have. Use this checklist if you are working off a bibliography or some other list of sources. Here are some of the most common citations, including identifying indicators (note that citations will look different in various citation styles):
For examples of how citations look in various citation styles, visit our Cite Your Sources guide. Once you've decoded your citation, use the boxes below to track down hard copies.
Here are some of the main ways to track down hard copies of articles, depending on your starting point.
If you have a journal citation that you've found in another source's bibliography:
Other ways to find articles: