LibGuides: FRE 367: North Africa: Background

Morocco

Morocco - Britannica Encyclopedia
If you're off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your Gustavus username/password to access the resource.
Visit Morocco
This is the official tourism site for Morocco; search for others, too.
Morocco - CIA World Fact Book
A succinct overview the country, including geography, history, politics, and current issues.

Historical Dictionary of Morocco by Aomar Boum; Thomas K. Park
Call Number: Reference DT313.7 .P37 2015
ISBN: 9781442262966
Publication Date: 2016-06-02
Find this book on the main floor of the library in the Reference section

Browse books on Morocco in the call number range DT 301-330 - top floor of the library, Chapel side, look for the shelf tags directing you to the DT section.

Tunisia

Tunisia - Britannica Encyclopedia
If you're off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your Gustavus username/password to access the resource.
Tunisia Tourism
This is one of many Tunisia tourism sites
Tunisia - CIA World Fact Back
A succinct overview the country, including geography, history, politics, and current issues.

Historical Dictionary of Tunisia by Kenneth J. Perkins
Call Number: Reference DT244 .P47 2016
ISBN: 9781442273177
Publication Date: 2016-10-12
Find this book on the main floor of the library in the Reference section

Browse books on Tunisia in the call number range DT 241-269 - top floor of the library, Chapel side, look for the shelf tags directing you to the DT section.

Islam

Since Islam is the dominant religion in North Africa, here are some library resources for helping you further explore Islam. You can find these books in the Reference section of the library - main floor, Beck Hall side. Signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you to the right call number section.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World - Ref BP 40 .E525 2004
Provides an overview of individuals, concepts, and topics related to Islam.
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture - Ref N 6260 .G75 2009 (3 vols.)
Presents over 1,000 entries on Islamic art and architecture. Includes bibliographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World - Ref DS 35.53 .O96 2009
Deals with all aspects of Islam throughout the world.

Algeria

Algeria - Britannica Encyclopedia
If you're off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your Gustavus username/password to access this resource.
Algeria Tourism Site
Here's Lonely Planet's take on Algeria; search for other tourism sites, too.
Algeria - CIA World Fact Book
A succinct overview the country, including geography, history, politics, and current issues.

Historical Dictionary of Algeria by Phillip C. Naylor
Call Number: Reference DT283.7 .N39 2015
ISBN: 9780810879188
Publication Date: 2015-05-07
Find this book on the main floor of the library in the Reference section

Browse books on Algeria in the call number range DT 271-299 - top floor of the library, Chapel side, look for the shelf tags directing you to the DT section.

Berber / Amazigh

Berber - Britannica Encyclopedia
If you're off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your Gustavus username/password to access the resource.
Don't Call Us Berber, We Are Amazigh
Opinion piece written by an Algerian scholar
Amazigh Peoples
from Nationalia, which is a news source covering stateless people
The Amazigh Cultural Renaissance
From the Washington Institute for Near East Policy

North Africa

North Africa - Britannica Encyclopedia
If you're off campus, you'll be prompted to enter your Gustavus username/password to access the resource.

You will also find The Middle East and North Africa very useful. The encyclopedia-like book has detailed chapters about each country in the region, including politics, economy, governing structures, etc. Find it on the main floor of the library in the Reference section (Beck Hall side of the building). The call number is Ref DS49 .M62
Browse books on North Africa in the call number range DT 160-181 - top floor of the library, Chapel side, look for the shelf tags directing you to the DT section.

FRE 367: North Africa: Background

Overview