Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash / Kras-Driven Lung Cancer. Created by Eric Snyder, 2015.
When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.
https://libguides.gustavus.edu/ILL
Materials not available at Gustavus may be borrowed from other libraries and sent here for you to use. Location: Library -- Main Floor.
Covers research in all areas of biological science, including animal behavior, biomedicine, zoology, ecology, and others. Coverage is from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts and citations, as well as access to thousands of full text titles.
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
Primary research describes articles, or other publications, written by scientists reporting new research including lab and fieldwork. Authors of these articles and publications typically contextualize their new research with a literature review before they report their own results and conclusions. Journals in biology also publish review articles that provide a roundup of recent research on a topic in biology. If you are looking for primary articles or review articles in biology and biomedical topics, the databases in this guide will be especially useful.
Summer Research Help:
Fall & Spring Semester Research Help:
24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.
Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.
Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.
E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
