FTS: Reading and Writing Place: Cultural Approaches

Over the years, the College has published a couple of books about itself. Find these in the Library. Use the call numbers to find the books on the shelves or ask any library employee for help. Note that the links take you to the catalog record, not the item itself.

Gustavus histories:

• Gustavus Adolphus College, A Centennial History, 1862-1962 - Call number: LD2091.G62 L8
• Gustavus Adolphus College: Celebrating 125 Years - Call number: Oversize LD2091.G62 L86 1987
• Gustavus Adolphus College: 150 Years of Images & Stories - Call number: Oversize LD2091.G62 K45 2011

1998 Tornado-specific resources:

• Rebuilding a Greater Gustavus: Opportunities and Enhancements Due to the March 29, 1998 Tornado - Call number: Oversize LD2091.G526 W66 1999
• Gustavus Adolphus College: Rebuilding a Greater Gustavus (DVD) - Call number: Audio Visual LD2091.G62 G86 1998 (You can watch this in the library or check out a portable DVD player to watch elsewhere.)
• Tornado of 1998 collection - This links to an archival collection finding aid, which tells you what's in the collection. You'll visit the Archives if you want to see the entire collection.  Portions of the collections have been digitized and are available online.

There are a few local organizations and newspapers that might have information about the Gustavus Arboretum, too. Your best bet will still be the  Gustavus-specific resources listed on this page, but keep these in mind, too.

Here are several sources about the Gustavus Arboretum. Note that several are books; the links take you to the catalog record, not the item itself.

• Gustavus Adolphus Arboretum: Master Plan - Call number: QK480.U62 G872 1975
• Arboreta, Gustavus Adolphus College campus development and Linneaus Arboretum history - Call number: Oversize QK480.U62 G875 1993
  • This student project, which was a Patricia Lindell Library Scholar project, is also available online.
• From Farmland to Prairie: Tallgrass Prairie Restoration in the Linneaus Arboretum, Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, Minnesota (student thesis) - Call number: SB434.3 .A73 2009
  • You can access this work online in GustieScholar: From Farmland to Prairie.

The College and Lutheran Church Archives offer resources both in print and digitized. To access items in print, visit the Archives. Check the hours and calendar to plan your visit. Resources here will help you explore how the Arboretum has appeared in various college publications, like the Weekly and yearbooks.