LibGuides: IDS 298: The History of Eugenics and the Future of Genetic Testing: Articles

Articles? Journals? Databases?

Articles are published in academic journals, magazines, or newspapers.

Journals are indexed in databases such as Academic Search Premier. Most databases include full text or links to request full text of articles.

Tracking Down Journal Articles

If you have a journal citation from a bibliography or other source list:

Click the Do We Have This Journal link on the library's homepage.
Type the title of the journal (not the article) into the search box.
The search will direct you to the source if we have it in print or online.
- You will either be given a link to a database with the full text or you will be told we have it in print (lower level).
If we do not have the full text of the journal, use this form to create an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request. This is free to you. Fill out all of the fields marked with an asterisk (*).
- If the link to the form doesn't work, you can access it by going to My Library Account, which is linked beneath the search box on the library's main page. Log in with your Gustavus user name & password. Click on "Requests" and then click on the blue "Create Request" box.

If you are searching for articles in a database and it's not full text:

Google Scholar - If you search Google Scholar on campus, you'll see a "find it at Gustavus" link that will take you to the full text of the article (or tell you if we have it in print). If you end up on a publisher's website & they are asking you to pay for access, stop! Never pay for an article. Use the info above to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Requesting Articles in a Database - Look for the FindIt! button, which will search to see if we have it full text in another database or in print downstairs. If we don't have the article, you'll see the option to request it from another library.

Print Articles in the Basement - Sometimes the FindIt! button or the Journals List will tell you that your article is available in print. These are on the lower level of the library and are alphabetized by title of journal. Use the year and/or volume number in your citation to retrieve your article.

For Articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Fully covers over 2,300 arts and humanities journals, and also includes some individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Some of the disciplines covered include archaeology, linguistics, art, literature, music, philosophy, dance, history, religion and theater.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary citation index covering the journal literature of the social sciences, including anthropology, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social work, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies. Indexes 2,697 journals across social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

For Articles Related to Biology

Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Covers research in all areas of biological science, including animal behavior, biomedicine, zoology, ecology, and others. Coverage is from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts and citations, as well as access to thousands of full text titles.
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Click the "Find it at Gustavus" button to link to the full text or to make an interlibrary loan request. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health.
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Search citations from scientific disciplines, including agriculture, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer science, mathematics, medicine, pharmacology, physics, plant sciences, psychiatry, and zoology. Covers 8,300 major journals.