This page provides links to good places to start searching for sources on the vampire. For more information on working with sources, visit our Doing Research Guide.
Articles are published in journals.
Journals are indexed in databases.
Databases: Most databases (such as Academic Search Premier) allow you to retrieve or request the full text of articles.
Some questions are easier to answer through the web than others. If your question has to do with current events, law, popular culture, organizations, or public affairs, the web offers a lot; if you're looking for scientific research or scholarly articles, you aren't as likely to find what you want. Remember to use a critical eye when evaluating resources you find on the open web.
Slavic Blood: The Vampire Russian and East European Cultures Cultures by 
The Twilight of the Gothic? Vampire Fiction and the Rise of the Paranormal Romance, 1991-2012 by 
The Vampire: A Casebook by 
The Vampire: A New History by 
The Vampire: Origins of a European MythA good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 750 communication and mass media journals, and includes full text for over 450 journals.
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
The major research resource for information on English literature, foreign languages and linguistics. Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations; coverage dates back to the 1920's.
Provides the full text of global, regional and local news sources. Coverage ranges from over 40 Minnesota sources to international sources from over 200 countries.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
