LibGuides: FTS: Meditation in Action: Finding Articles

Tips for Finding Articles

Searching

To find articles, use the library-provided databases in the box to the right. Use search terms that match your topic but don't get stuck only using one or two terms. Also, be aware that the databases don't like phrases. Searching "covid" and "teacher burnout" in two separate search boxes will yield better results that typing "the effects of the Covid pandemic on teacher burnout." Use the Search Tips tab at the top of this guide for addition ideas about conducting research.

Sources

Pay attention to the kinds of sources you're finding in the databases. Different sources serve different purposes and audiences:

Newspapers are good for very specific news items or recent events.
Magazine articles reflect a popular approach to issues and are often short and simple in style.
Articles in academic journals report on research and are sometimes quite long and complex. Concentrate on the abstract (a one-paragraph summary that sometimes is at the beginning of the article), the introduction, and the last paragraphs.

Full Text

When articles are not available as PDF or HTML files, there's a yellow "find it!" button that will search for the article in other databases or offer you a chance to get a copy from another library, a process that usually takes a day or two and is FREE for you. Consult the Tracking Down Materials tab for more information.

Finding Articles

To find articles, try these databases, which will connect you with all kinds of sources. You will probably find a lot of information (but sometimes you find no information!). Be persistent, try various search terms, and above all, ask for help if you're stuck. Send me an email with any questions or to set up a time to meet.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Plus This link opens in a new window
The premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Includes more than 600 full text journals. Note: To access the full text of book chapters (essays) that appear in your search results, you may also want to check the book catalog to see if we have the book in print.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, with coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview, a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Major index to literature in education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it provides full citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, curricula, government documents, dissertations, and research reports. ERIC citations date from 1966 to the present, and full text is available for many research reports.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).