The resources on this page might be all you need to conduct your research. But more likely, you'll need to do some searching on your own, too. (The list of resources here are examples of the scholarship that exists in this field.) Use the resources on this page and the entire guide to find materials. Research can be tricky, so please know you can always contact me (Julie) for help on any topic.
Here are a few books in our library that might inform your topics. Try some searches in the Library Catalog to see what other books we have available. If you need help finding books on the shelf, you can always ask at the Library's Info Desk or consult this guide. Also note that we do have ebooks, including some on this list!
Try search terms like "Hispanic cinema" or "Latino films" or "Latin America Motion Picture" or search for your film or director to see what might be available. (The catalog prefers the term "motion picture" so make sure to try that as a search term.)
Cosmopolitan Film Cultures in Latin America, 1896-1960
by
Latino Images in Film
by
The Cinema of Pedro Almodóvar
by
To find articles about your topics, you'll want to search some of our library databases. I've listed recommended databases below, as well a few links that will take you directly to some online journals, which you can then search to find articles.
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, these databases cover 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
An online annotated bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Over 5,000 new references are added each year.
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 750 communication and mass media journals, and includes full text for over 450 journals.
The major research resource for information on English literature, foreign languages and linguistics. Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations; coverage dates back to the 1920's.
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,000 publications and indexing for nearly 24,000 publications. Comprised of the Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News databases.
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
You can also search these online journals directly.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
