FTS: For the Love of Books: Leisure Reading

Leisure reading is a great pastime. There are countless benefits to "reading for fun" - both individual and social - of reading. We know that college students don't always have much time to read outside of class. We know many of you love to read, though. Here are ideas, tips and suggestions for connecting with books and authors. Explore this tab for ways to select your next read and keep track of your reading. You may also want to browse the Award Winning Books tab on this guide.

Finally, it will come as no surprise that the Gustavus Library is filled with people who love books and reading. Stop by and chat with any staff member about what we're reading and to ask for recommendations. Happy reading!

We have a fairly large collection of novels in our library. Here is where you can find fiction:

• Browsing Collection - this collection features new & popular fiction and nonfiction selections. It's located by the couches near the main entrance.
• General Collection - Browse the PQs (third floor) for international literature, including novels in translation. Find novels by English authors in the PRs (main floor) and American authors in the PSs (also main floor). They're further subdivided by eras (look towards the ends of the PRs and PSs for contemporary novels).
• Young Adult - Our Young Adult literature collection is on the first (bottom) floor, near the Children's Collection - look for the maroon paint on the overhang.
• Children's Collection - find old and new favorites in the Children's Collection, bottom floor in the back (look for the bright blue paint).
• New Books - Every new book is displayed on the shelves in the Hasselquist room (near the front entrance). Browse to find new fiction and see everything we're adding to our collection.

Need help finding books on the shelf? Visit our Finding Books in the Library guide.

A great way to find new books is to connect with authors, reviewers and other readers on social media platforms. You can like author pages on Facebook and follow authors and bloggers on Twitter and Instagram. BookTok is its own phenomenon. Here are some popular hashtags:

• #reading
• #books
• #booksofinstagram
• #amreading

The American Library Association's Top 10 Most Challenged Books of 2024:

1. All Boys Aren't Blue by George M. Johnson 
2. Gender Queer: A Memoir by Maia Kobabe 
3. (TIE) The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
4. (TIE) The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
5. Tricks by Ellen Hopkins
6. (TIE) Looking for Alaska by John Green
7. (TIE) Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
8. (TIE) Crank by Ellen Hopkins
9. (TIE) Sold by Patricia McCormick
10. Flamer by Mike Curato

For lists from previous years, visit the Top Ten Most Challenged Books Archive

• Book Riot - reviews, podcasts, newsletters, videos about books old and new in every genre imaginable 
• New York Times Best Sellers List - best sellers in the U.S. sorted by fiction, non fiction, children's, and young adult books. (Note: Gustavus students can get access to the New York Times through the Student Senate's Newspaper Readership Program)
• We Need Diverse Books - excellent resource for finding and supporting diverse titles and authors

Lots of book lovers, like celebrities and other personalities, have book clubs. Here are some to check out:

• The Audacious Book Club
• Good Morning America Book Club
• Mocha Girls Read
• Oprah's Book Club 
• Read with Jenna 
• Reese's Book Club 
• Subtle Asian Book Club
• Teen Banned Book Club at New York Public Library

These sites provide ways of keeping track of what you've read, as well as recommendations, reviews and opportunities to connect with other readers.