Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browsing for Books
Books are shelved in general subject categories using the Library of Congress classification system. You may want to supplement your use of the catalog with browsing shelf areas for your topic. Below is a brief listing of some of the subject locations in the field of biology. These are all located on the main floor of the library.
Q -- Science - General
QD -- Chemistry
QH -- Natural History
QK -- Botany
QL -- Zoology
QM -- Human Anatomy
QP -- Physiology
QR -- Microbiology
R -- Medicine
S -- Agriculture
Where Can I Find Info About Trees?
Where Can I Find a Definition of "Life"?
The library doesn't routinely add textbooks to our collection (they cost too much and go out of date so quickly!) but you can find some general biology books, including older textbooks, by searching our catalog and browsing the QH section of shelves. There are also reference works across the aisle in the Reference - QH section that will have definitions. There is also a basic Principles of Biology textbook on the course reserve shelves.
Also, these free open access textbooks are available online.
And these books are available through the EBSCO ebook library, though may be electronically "checked out" - only one person at a time can use it.
In the Reference Collection
These books can't be checked out, but they might have useful background and factual information. Though they are written like Wikipedia articles, the authors are experts in the field and they sometimes provide a scientific focus you won't find at Wikipedia.
Call Number: Reference QH332 .E52 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Print and ebook versions available.
Hormones, Brain and Behavior by
Call Number: Reference QP356.45 .H433 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by
Call Number: Reference QH541.15.B56 E53 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-21
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior by
Call Number: Reference QL750.3 .E533 2010
Publication Date: 2010-09-13
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by
Call Number: Reference QR9 .E53 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-14
Encyclopedia of Entomology by
Call Number: Reference QL462.3 .E47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-11
Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics by
Call Number: Reference QH427 .E532 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
Websites of Interest
Census of Marine Life
A website that chronicles the work of the Census of Marine Life, an international effort to document and study the diversity and distribution of life in the oceans. The site provides lists of publications arising out of the project (including a database of published papers), a summary of projects with links to their websites, an image gallery, and more.
National Center for Biotechnology Informaiton
Contains searchable databases for information on molecules, genomes, sequences, and more general biology literature.
From the USDA's National Resources Conservation Service, provides basic information about plants growing in the US, including images, species abstracts, growth distribution, growth data, and more. Includes sections on "culturally significant" plants and invasive species.
SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
indexes the contents of seven journals covering ornithology from their first issue to 1999, including free access to the full text of their articles.
Tree of Life
A collaborative effort of scientists around the world to provide information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License