Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browsing for Books
Books are shelved in general subject categories using the Library of Congress classification system. You may want to supplement your use of the catalog with browsing shelf areas for your topic. Below is a brief listing of some of the subject locations related to Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies.
HQ - The Family. Marriage. Women.
- 12-449 Sexuality
- 77-77.95 Transgender Identities
- 503-1064 Marriage, The Family
- 1075-1075.5 Gender Identities (Sex role)
- 1088-1090.7 Men
- 1101-2030 Women, Feminism
- 1121-1154 History
- 1180 Women's Studies
- 1236 Women and the State
- 1381 Women and Economics
- 1393 Women and Religion
- 1402 - 1870.5 Women in Regions or Countries
A note on language: The ways we use words like "gender" and "sex" have changed over time, and will continue to change. Appropriate words to describe gender and sexual identities have changed a lot throughout history. Because of this, terms used in library classification are sometimes outdated because they used to be a preferred term, but are no longer considered appropriate. Librarians are working to update terminology that has changed, but this can sometimes take a long time.
Because of this, you may find outdated terminology as you research. You also might need to use older terms find what you are looking for when you search in the library catalog or library databases, especially if you are researching history. If you feel stuck, ask a librarian! We are here to help.
GWS Books online
Here are some web resources that point you to various scholarship written in GWS areas. Search the Gustavus Library catalog OR WorldCat to locate the book in our library or order from another library.
[Archived version] This site provides overviews of scholarship in queer theory as well as links to personalities, artistic work and additional websites.
Women's Studies: Core Books
A searchable database of the most important books in print on issues ranging from girls and girlhood to aging, covering women's studies approaches to religion, sports, the arts, law, media, politics, and more. Books are chosen by specialists in the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
WSSLinks: Women and Gender Studies
Selected, annotated links for women's studies. Covers art, education, film, health, history, sexuality, music, philosophy, politics, science and technology, and theology. Links are chosen by members of the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
Finding Books beyond Gustavus
Searching the catalog (above) will lead you to books at Gustavus. It will also connect you with books at many other libraries in Minnesota (select All Libraries to search once you're in the catalog). Explore these links to find books at other libraries & online.
Includes millions of records of resources in 400 languages owned by libraries around the world. Materials date back to the 11th century. Gustavus users may be able to borrow items they find in WorldCat searches via Interlibrary Loan (click the "Find It!" button). The database can also be searched through its free web interface, at worldcat.org. Access to WorldCat is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
WorldCat web interface.
Google is in the midst of an ambitious project to digitize books from publishers and in libraries. Those that were published before 1923 are in full text; those still potentially under copyright can be searched, but not viewed in full. It offers an interesting way to locate very specific words, phrases, and citations, particularly in older books. Using the advanced search you can limit a search to books that are full text or published within a range of years.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License