LibGuides: A Guide to French: Encyclopedias

History and Culture

Cultural Atlas of France - Ref G 1844.21 E64 A7 1991
Provides informations on the geography, history, culture and society of France with numerous maps, pictures and photographs. Includes a section on the various regions in France.
Encyclopaedia Universalis - Ref AE 25 .E43 1996
A French encyclopedia covering a wide variety of subjects accompanied by pictures, maps and photographs.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture - Ref DC 33.7 .E53 1998
Covers various facets of French culture including film, intellectual life, media, music, performing arts and politics. Provides brief biographies of major figures in French culture.
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution, 1789-1799 - Ref DC 147 .H57 1984
more...less...
More an encyclopedia than dictionary, entries include events, people, places and topics related to the French Revolution. Other dictionaries in this series include:
- Historical Dictionary of Napoleonic France, 1799-1815
  Ref DC 201 .H673 1985
- Historical Dictionary of the French Second Empire, 1852-1870
  Ref DC 276 .H57 1985
- Historical Dictionary of the Third French Republic, 1870-1940
  Ref DC 337 .H57 1986
- Historical Dictionary of France from the 1815 Restoration to the Second Empire
  Ref DC 256 3H57 1987
- Historical Dictionary of the French Fourth and Fifth Republics, 1946-1991
  Ref DC 401 .H57 1992
- Historical Dictionary of World War II France: the Occupation, Vichy, and the Resistance, 1938-1946
  Ref DC 397 .H58 1998
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia - Ref DC 33.2 .M44 1995
An overview of medieval France with topics pertaining to politics, economics, religion, literature, art and society.

Literature

French Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Source Book - Ref PQ 149 .F73 1991
Author entries include a biography, examination of major themes and a survey of criticism. Includes a bibliography of each author's works and a bibliography of studies?papers written about the author.
Guide to French Literature, 1789 to the Present - Ref PQ 41 .L46 1992
Lengthy biographical and critical appraisals of writers in the French language, including prominent colonial and post-colonial writers in the Caribbean and Africa. Some entries cover literary movements such as Dada. Each article is followed by a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
History of French Literature: From Chanson de Geste to Cinema - PQ 103 .C67 2002
Provides an overview of poetry, prose and drama including mojor figures and themes in French literature from the Middle Ages to the present day.
New Oxford Companion to Literature in French - Ref PQ 41 .N48 1995
Covers people, works, topics, and concepts related to French literature and the literature of the francophone world.

Travel

France - DC 16 .F74 1997
Arranged alphabetically according to city, this travel guide highlights and rates the main attractions in each city. Also contains maps, photographs and listings of main festivals. See also France, DC 20 .F73 1998.

Librarian

Dan Mollner

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences, Film and Media Studies, French, Geology, German, Japanese, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies, Music, Russian, Sociology and Anthropology, Spanish