Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History and Culture: Latin America and South America
Cambridge History of Latin America - Ref F1410 .C1834 1984 (11 vols.)
Long, scholarly topical essays arranged in chronological order covering Latin American history from the late 15th century to the 1980s.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures - Ref F1406.E515 2000 (3 vols.)
Includes entries on cultural topics such as architecture, cinema, food and drink, the media, music, politics, and religion, as well as biographical sketches of important cultural figures.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture - Ref F 1406 .E53 2008
The 5,000+ articles in this resource give a remarkably complete overview of current knowledge about the region. Entries are arranged alphabetically by country, by topic (such as slavery, art, Asians in Latin America), and biographically. Articles are written by experts and are followed by selective bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture - Ref F1210.E63 1997 (2 vols.)
Contains long articles on topics related to the culture, economy, demography and politics of contemporary and historical Mexico.
Milenios de México - Ref F1204 .M955 1999 (3 vols.)
A lavishly illustrated resource in dictionary form on Mexican culture and history. Written in Spanish, this resource covers important Mexican current and historical figures, organizations, places, and a variety of topics related to Mexico.
South America, Central America and the Caribbean - Ref F1401.S68 (earlier volumes in General Collection)
Arranged by country, each entry includes a brief history of the country, an overview of its economy, statistical information and a directory of names and addresses covering the constitution to tourism.
History and Culture: Spain
Enciclopedia Hispanica - Ref AE61. E48 1995 (18 vols.)
An encyclopedia containing articles on topics important to Spanish life. In Spanish.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture - Ref DP233.5. E63 1999
Spanish culture from 1975-1999, including the transition from military dictatorship to democracy. Essays related to film, education, the economy, language and literature, and politics are included, followed by brief bibliographies.
Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia - Ref DP99 .M33 2003
Includes 800+ articles on people, events, works, institutions, and topics related to the territories of present-day Spain and Portugal from 470-1500. Emphasis is on history, literature, language, religion, science, folklore and the arts. Each entry is followed by a brief bibliography.
Regions of Spain: A Reference Guide to History and Culture - Ref DP48. K45 1995
Includes information on the cuisine, customs, economy, history, historic sites, literature and music of Spain, by region.
Literature: Latin America and the Caribbean
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature - Ref PN849. C3 E53 2006 (2 vols.)
Alphabetical entries on authors and topics related to anglophone, Dutch, francophone and Hispanic Caribbean literature. Each is followed by a brief multi-lingual bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature - Ref PQ 7081 .A1 E56 1997
Covers writers, works and topics related to the literature of Central America, South America and the Caribbean.
Hispanic Literature Criticism - Ref PQ7081.A1 H573 1994 (2 vols.)
Arranged alphabetically by author, each entry provides a brief biographical sketch and critical essays on the author's works. Covers twentieth-century authors from the United States, Mexico, Cuba, Spain and many other countries.
Latin American Writers - Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989 (3 vols.)
Surveys prominent writers from Latin America writing in Spanish and Portuguese, providing substantial bio-critical essays and
Literary Cultures of Latin America: A Comparative History - Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L525 2004
An ambitious set of essays covering the terrain of literary culture in Latin America, including indigenous literature, issues of gender and sexual orientation in the formation of culture, genres, and popular media. Each essay is thorough and scholarly.
Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula - Ref PN 849 .S6 D54 1993
Covers Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan, and other literatures of the Iberian Peninsula in short articles devoted to writers, literary movements, styles, and topics in cultural history.
Spanish Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Source Book - Ref PQ6055 .S63 1993
Offers entries on women writers from Spain from the 14th century through the early 20th century. Each entry has a biographical sketch, major themes, a survey of criticism and an extensive bibliography listing the writer's works and works about the writer.
Maya World: The Rough Guide - Ref F1435 .E47 1999
A travel guide covering Maya ruins and attractions in the area which once was inhabited by Mayans; includes Southern Mexico, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador.
Mexico - F1209 .M496 2000
Travel guide to Mexico containing attractions, places to stay and eat, and detailed maps of cities, beaches, towns and ruins. Other guides in the Lonely Planet Series include:
- Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay (Ref 2808.5.B46)
- Chile and the Easter Islands (F3059.5.B47 2000)
- Costa Rica (F1543.5.R34 2000)
- Cuba (F1754.7.S73 2000)
- Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands (F3709.5.R33 2001)
- Panama (F1563.5.D64 1999)
South American Handbook 2001 - Ref F1401 .S71 2001
A travel guide to the countries of South America, includes places to stay, information on transportation and the major sites to see.
Spain: Balearic and Canary Islands - DP43 .S66 1998
Arranged alphabetically according to city, this travel guide to Spain, the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands highlights and rates the main attractions in each city. Also contains maps, photographs and hours for attractions/museums.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License