Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History and Culture: Latin America and South America
Literature: Latin America and the Caribbean
Dictionary of Literary Biography - Ref PS 221 .A5
This set provides lengthy articles of biographical information and some critical appraisal of literary works. The volumes are arranged thematically, with a cumulative index in the last volume. Though emphasis is on American and British literary authors, there is some coverage of journalists, historians, and critics, as well as writers from other countries.
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature - Ref PN849. C3 E53 2006 (2 vols.)
Alphabetical entries on authors and topics related to anglophone, Dutch, francophone and Hispanic Caribbean literature. Each is followed by a brief multi-lingual bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature - Ref PQ 7081 .A1 E56 1997
Covers writers, works and topics related to the literature of Central America, South America and the Caribbean.
Hispanic Literature Criticism - Ref PQ7081.A1 H573 1994 (2 vols.)
Arranged alphabetically by author, each entry provides a brief biographical sketch and critical essays on the author's works. Covers twentieth-century authors from the United States, Mexico, Cuba, Spain and many other countries.
Latin American Writers - Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989 (3 vols.)
Surveys prominent writers from Latin America writing in Spanish and Portuguese, providing substantial bio-critical essays and
Latin American Women Writers - Ref PQ 7081.3 .L37 2008
A guide to women writers from Central and South America writing in Spanish and Portuguese from colonial times to the present. Articles are mostly about writers, offering a review of the author's life, critical reception of their work, and discussion of their works' themes.
Literary Cultures of Latin America: A Comparative History - Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L525 2004
An ambitious set of essays covering the terrain of literary culture in Latin America, including indigenous literature, issues of gender and sexual orientation in the formation of culture, genres, and popular media. Each essay is thorough and scholarly.
Maya World: The Rough Guide - Ref F1435 .E47 1999
A travel guide covering Maya ruins and attractions in the area which once was inhabited by Mayans; includes Southern Mexico, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador.
Mexico - F1209 .M496 2000
Travel guide to Mexico containing attractions, places to stay and eat, and detailed maps of cities, beaches, towns and ruins. Other guides in the Lonely Planet Series include:
- Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay (Ref 2808.5.B46)
- Chile and the Easter Islands (F3059.5.B47 2000)
- Costa Rica (F1543.5.R34 2000)
- Cuba (F1754.7.S73 2000)
- Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands (F3709.5.R33 2001)
- Panama (F1563.5.D64 1999)
South American Handbook 2001 - Ref F1401 .S71 2001
A travel guide to the countries of South America, includes places to stay, information on transportation and the major sites to see.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License