Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?
When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.
Evaluating Journals and Magazines
Materials not available at Gustavus may be borrowed from other libraries and sent here for you to use. Location: Library -- Main Floor.
Recommended Article Databases
We subscribe to dozens of databases that contain articles. Try some of the ones listed below or chat with a librarian or your professor for suggestions of how and where to search. You can also get recommendations by clicking Research Guides on the library's homepage. Click on a Subject Guide related to your topic and look for the Articles tab for appropriate databases.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text backfiles to over 350 scholarly journals from more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries in the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, and Language & Literature collections. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year. To limit your search to full text articles, make sure that the option to "include links to external content" is turned off.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License