Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guides to Research Methods in Sociology and Anthropology
Selected list of resources for research methods in Sociology/Anthropology and related fields.
- Bit by Bit: Social Research in the Digital Age - General Collection H62 .S243 2018
- Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research - General Collection H62 .C6962 2018
- Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology - General Collection GN345 .H37 2015
- Interviewing as Qualitative Research: A Guide for Researchers in Education and the Social Sciences - General Collection H61.28 .S45 2019
- Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research - General Collection H62 .O95 2020
- Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches - General Collection H62 .C6963 2018
- Research Methods in Anthropology: ualitative and Quantitative Methods - General Collection GN345 .B36 2002
- Research Methods for the Behavioral Sciences - General Collection BF76.5 .P65 2020
Recommended Reference Works
21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook - Ref GN25 .A144 2010
Two-volume set that highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
Cambridge Handbook of Environmental Sociology - General Collection GE195 .C355 2020
This two-volume work covers the rich theoretic foundations of the sub-discipline, as well as novel approaches and emerging areas of research that add vitality and momentum to the discipline. Over the course of sixty chapters, the authors featured in this work reach new levels of theoretical depth, incorporating a global scope and diversity of cases. This book explores the broad scope of crucial disciplinary ideas and areas of research, extending its investigation to the trajectories of thought that led to their unfolding.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory - Ref HM 425 .E47 2005
Covers both theories and theorists, classical and cutting-edge. Quite useful for decoding complex theoretical positions and providing key formative works.
Encyclopedia of Sociology - Ref HM425 .E5 2000
This set provides up-to-date and scholarly discussions of topics in the field such as class and race, ethnicity, economic sociology, and social structure. Each article is written by a specialist and all have excellent bibliographies.
Routledge Handbook of the Sociology of Sport - General Collection GV706.5 .R68 2015
Brings together the most important themes, theories and issues within the sociology of sport, tracing the contours of the discipline and surveying the state-of-the-art.
Sage Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies - Ref On Order, Fall 2022
A unified approach to the study of children and youth across academic fields including the arts, humanities, social sciences and law. This interdisciplinary encyclopedia will be of interest to students and researchers in psychology, sociology, social welfare and cultural studies.
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods - Ref H 62 .L456 2004
A thorough treatment of a variety of research methods and tools, covering definitions of terms, topical essays on concepts, and overviews of specific methods, outlining their nature, history, application, and reasons to choose one method over another. Both qualitative and quantitative methods and concepts are included.
Sage Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Religion - Ref BL60 .S1719 2020
This encyclopedia covers a range of themes from fundamental topics like definitions, secularization, and dimensions of religiosity to such emerging issues as civil religion and new religious movements. Furthermore, the encyclopedia squarely addresses contemporary dilemmas such as fundamentalism and extremism and the role of gender in religion.
Social Science Encyclopedia - Ref H 41 .S63 2004
Covers controversies and common assumptions in the fields of social science, including anthropology, psychology, economics, sociology, political theory, and gender studies. Contributors are drawn from many disciplines and represent perspectives from the US, the UK and beyond.
, Art and Art History
, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License