Research Guides: FTS: The Sixties: A History: Primary Sources

What's an editorial?

Noun:

1. an article in a newspaper or other periodical or on a website presenting the opinion of the publisher, writer, or editor.

2. a statement broadcast on radio or television that presents the opinion of the owner, manager, or the like, of the program, station, or channel.

3. something regarded as resembling such an article or statement, as a lengthy, dogmatic utterance.

What's an editorial cartoon?

Political cartoons (also known as editorial cartoons) are defined as illustrations or comic strips containing a political or social message that usually relates to current events or personalities.

SCRB Collection 015.
Basset, Gene. Editorial Cartoons by Gene Basset, 1964-2005.

Newspapers and Periodicals: The Popular Press

Gustavus Students Newspapers - Including the 1960s
Searchable full text and pdf page images of Gustavus Adolphus College newspapers. Issues from 1891 through spring 2015 are digitally archived here. If you need help searching this database, please read these instructions.
Winona Daily News, 1954-1976
The Winona [Minnesota] Daily News can be searched by keyword or paged through by issue.
Popular Magazines in Print: By Decade
Information about some of the popular magazines available in the Gustavus library; these can be extremely useful for gaining insight into a particular time period. All magazines are located on the first floor of the library, alphabetized by title of magazine.
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
H. W. Wilson Company 1900 - present
Indexes articles and reviews from a range of magazines. A separate book review index is located after the general index.
• Location(s): Reference A13 .R28
Google: 1960s Ads (via Google Images)
Print advertisements from the 1960s.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This resource from the Library of Congress allows users to search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963.

New York Times Historical
The full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago -- covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper back to the first issue. The newspaper text is fully indexed and searchable and the database also contains full-page images, including graphics.
US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).

Online Primary Sources - These are just a drop in the bucket.

America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations--Vietnam Veterans Against the War
This collection consists of FBI reports dealing with various aspects of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations. Covers 1967-1975.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Covers 1968-1979.
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin’s work for the LGBT movement and the women’s rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally. Included are minutes, correspondence, and notes related to their work with the ACLU, the San Francisco Coalition for Human Rights, the Commission on Crime Control and Violence Protection, the Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, the San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women, the San Francisco Human Rights Commission, and the National Organization for Women. Covers 1966-1984.
Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents the work of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, founders in 1955 of the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB). They also were instrumental in the formation and growth of other related social movements, including the contemporary women’s rights movement. Covers 1955-1984.

Microform Collections

FBI File on Malcolm X
Wilmington: Scholary Resources 1996
An unusual primary source, reproducing the actual FBI file kept on Malcolm X. Additional FBI surveillance files are available under Microfilm E185.61 .M315 1978. The library owns a similar microfilm collection that covers the FBI file on W.E.B. Du Bois with information the agency collected from 1942 to 1963. These files, though declassified, have been heavily censored and many portions of text are blacked out. Provides not only what the authorities believed was significant evidence on these public figures and their behavior, but insight into how they interpreted that evidence.
• Location(s): Mircofilm E 185.97 .L5 F23 1996

Papers of the NAACP: Part 4, Vorting Rights Campaign, 1916-1950 with supplement: General Office Files, 1956-1965
Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America 1995
A firsthand record of the activities of the NAACP in the fight for voting rights. Includes information on voter registration campaigns, reports on the political climate of the times, committee recommendations, accounts of resistance to voter registration campaigns, etc. Indexed by subject and by principal correspondent.
• Location(s): Microfilm E185.5 .N276 1986, pt.4
1916-1950

Archival Collections

Gustavus Adolphus College & Lutheran Church Archives
Campus records, manuscript collections, student theses, college newspapers, yearbooks, and photographs are just some of the unique resources found in the College Archives. The Lutheran Church Archives houses records of largely Swedish-American church bodies in Minnesota, including photographs, congregational histories, biographical information and microfilmed church records. Many of the campus newspapers and photographs are digitized and available via the archives website.
• Location(s): Library, 3rd floor

Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
A searchable collection of images and primary sources from libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums across Minnesota.
University Archives and Southern Minnesota Historical Center (Minnesota State University, Mankato)