Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spring 2021 reference (research) help:
General Reference Works
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A free encyclopedia written by scholars.
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics - Ref BJ 63 .E53 2012
Offers excellent overviews of ways in which a wide variety of issues can be analyzed from an ethical standpoint. Includes articles on such topics as advertising, affirmative action, fetal research, religion in schools, and many other topics.
Encyclopedia of Ethics - Ref BJ 63 .E45 2001
Provides articles on ethical theory, including history, major traditions, and ethical issues related to law, social problems, technology, economic systems, and other issues.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Ref B 51 .E53 2006
A recent update of a classic source of substantial essays on philosophers and their ideas. All of the articles and references have been updated to reflect current philosophical thought, and many entries have been added for contemporary issues and philosophers.
Routledge Companion to Ethics - Ref BJ21 .R68 2010
Covers history of ethics, meta-ethics, ideas and methods from outside ethics, perspectives in ethics, morality, and debates in ethics. Entries include short bibliographies.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Ref B 51 .R68 1998
A vast encyclopedia of the field that extends the classic Encyclopedia of Philosophy by adding both new topics and approaches to philosophy, but also by including new approaches and new research on classical philosophy. New areas covered in this work include philosophical approaches based on feminism, postcolonialism, poststructuralism, deconstruction, and postmodernism.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License