LibGuides: FTS: On the Road: Reference Works

Reference Collection

Most books in the Reference Collection are tertiary works that give readers a broad topical overview. Because you are new to researching and writing about immigration and may need more background, these are a good place to start.

Image from the College and Lutheran Church Archives, Digital Collections, College Photographs

Reference Works: Recommended Sources

Encyclopedia of American Immigration - Ref JV 6465 .E53 2010
Covers historical and contemporary issues in immigration policy, provides coverage of social and cultural issues and background on specific immigrant groups. The final section reproduces key legal documents from the US Constitution to late twentieth-century immigration legislation and executive orders.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - Ref E 184 .A1 G14 2000
Offers over 150 substantial essays on ethnic groups in the U. S., covering origins, circumstances of arrival, family, community, culture, economy, politics, and significant contributions. Each essay ends with a bibliography and contacts for further research.
American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation - Ref E184.A1 A63448 1997
Covers culture groups from Acadians to Zoroastrians, covering each group's defining features, patterns of cultural variation, immigration history, demographics, cultural characteristics, and relevant published literature.
CQ Researcher - Ref H 35 .E352 [year]
In-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Published by Congressional Quarterly, with its tradition of nonpartisan reporting and analysis, each CQ Researcher presents a balanced account of an issue on the public agenda. The objective, forward-looking reporting that characterizes these articles is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research.