EDU 230: Social Foundations of Education: Reference Works

A collection of legal and diplomatic documents, including analysis and context. A remarkable collection that builds on Kappler's Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties (Ref KF8203 1972b). This work is edited by Vine Deloria, Jr. and Raymond J. DeMallie.

Covers education theory, history of education, education and social forces, and education reform effortsin over 850 articles, emphasizing the U.S. experience, but with some international perspectives. Volume 8 includes primary sources and a thematic outline.

Subjects covered include: reservations, poverty, sovereignty, the problem of solid waste on reservations, and the lives of urban Indians, among other contemporary issues. Organized into ten sections, the book also provides helpful sidebars and informative essays to address topics on casinos and gaming, sexual identity, education, and poverty.

Includes a historical overview, A-Z entries, and many images.

Offers over 150 substantial essays on ethnic groups in the U. S., covering origins, circumstances of arrival, family, community, culture, economy, politics, and significant contributions. Each essay ends with a bibliography and contacts for further research.

Offers surveys of tribes, including history, migration, subsistence, modern history, and current issues. Use the index to locate nations that may have more than one name in use (e.g. Anishinabe / Ojibwe / Chippewa).

Includes information about over 200 Native American groups in Canada and the U.S. Covers location, population, history, and culture.

Provides essays related to the political and cultural issues surrounding Native Americans. Essays are supplemented by primary source documents.

This encyclopedia covers contemporary challenges in the lives of Native Americans (including social issues such as alcoholism, unemployment, and suicide).