Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Resources After Graduation
When you leave the Gustavus community, there are still other ways to access electronic resources. Many states (including Minnesota and Wisconsin) fund statewide access to popular databases such as Academic Search Premier. Contact your local public library to learn more.
Ask a Librarian through Ask MN!
Miss our reference librarians? Libraries across Minnesota team up to provide this service. Minnesota residents can submit questions and receive an answer from a librarian.
A freely-accessible collection of papers in physics and other fields. The object of the archive is to diseminate research findings quickly, so articles are not always peer-reviewed (though some first posted in the archive are later formally reviewed and published). This was an early and important attempt to use the electronic environment for science research and is currently hosted at Cornell University.
Directory of Open Access Journals
The DOAJ provides access to scientific and scholarly journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers for access.
eLibraryMN Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM)
Minnesota's state government funds a collection of databases for its residents. Please contact your local public library for assistance with ELM. Current Gustavus students and employees have access to databases in ELM through the "Articles" tab on the Gustavus library homepage.
JSTOR Register and Read Program
JSTOR offers a program for users without a college or university affiliation (not a current student/employee) to read a limited number of articles from certain journals.
PubMed Central (digital archive of journal literature) This link opens in a new window
Free full text scholarly journal archive of literature in the life and health sciences, managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine.
Open Library of Humanities
A site that hosts several open access journals in the humanities, including The Comics Grid, ASIAN Network Exchange (Asian Studies), and an interdisciplinary mega-journal for humanities.
Personal Data and Privacy
Here are a selection of software and guidelines that will help you manage your personal data and keep it private.
This software assists with backing up a computer in event of a virus or other technical failure.
Duck Duck Go
This search engine does not track your searches or use your search history to change the results that you receive.
Privacy in the Era of Mass Surveillance
On the "Tools You Can Use Tab" you'll find tips on improving your privacy online.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License