LibGuides: LAS 399: Senior Capstone: Reference Books

For Background Information

No doubt Wikipedia is the go-to site for background information and references to useful sources (be sure to check out the Talk tab if you want to see editors quarreling behind the scenes), but these books in the reference collection may also be helpful.

Cambridge History of Latin America - Ref F1410 .C1834 1984 (11 vols.)
Long, scholarly topical essays arranged in chronological order covering Latin American history from the late 15th century to the 1980s.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures - Ref F1406.E515 2000 (3 vols.)
Includes entries on cultural topics such as architecture, cinema, food and drink, the media, music, politics, and religion, as well as biographical sketches of important cultural figures.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art - Ref N6502 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture - Ref F 1406 .E53 2008
The 5,000+ articles in this resource give a remarkably complete overview of current knowledge about the region. Entries are arranged alphabetically by country, by topic (such as slavery, art, Asians in Latin America), and biographically. Articles are written by experts and are followed by selective bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics - Ref F 1410 .E56 2002
Provides country profiles that sketch out political history, followed by bibliographies of print and Web resources.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater - Ref PQ 7082 .D7 E63 2003
A survey of playwrights, theatres, and traditions arranged by country, with entries for Chicano and Nuyorican theatre in the United States.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States - Ref E 184 .S75 O97 2005
Provides lengthy, scholarly articles on all aspects of the topic, including intellectual, social, cultural, and political issues.

Librarian

Dan Mollner

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences, Film and Media Studies, French, Geology, German, Japanese, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies, Music, Russian, Sociology and Anthropology, Spanish

Ask Us!

24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.

Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.

E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)