These primary source publications are located on the library's lower level. Magazines and Journals are organized alphabetically.
Atlantic Monthly, 1858-present
This general interest magazine contains literary, political, and cultural commentary.
Harper's, 1850 - present
This general interest periodical contains articles about politics, literature, culture, the arts, and finance.
Littell's Living Age / Living Age, 1860-1892
This news and opinion magazine contains articles on world news and culture, book reviews, and poetry.
North American Review, 1829 - present
This literary magazine contains essays, book reviews, poetry, and short stories.
The library's microfilm collection is located on the south end of the lower level. Look for the metal file cabinets on the Beck Hall side.
Slave narratives a folk history of slavery in the United States from interviews with former slaves : typewritten records
Microfilm E444 .S53
Records of the Confederate States of America, 1859-1872
Microfilm JK9665 .C65 1967
American women's diaries from the collection of the American Antiquarian Society
Microfilm CT3260 .A64 1984
Includes collections from the United States and Europe on the worldwide movement for the abolition of slavery in the eighteenth and nineteenth century. Contains 1.5 million cross-searchable pages, including over 7,000 books, 79 serials, 16 manuscript collections and 377 Supreme Court records and briefs.
The collection contains more than 11,100 items. This online release presents more than 1,300 items with more than 4,000 images and a date range of 1824-1931. It includes the complete collection of Stern’s contemporary newspapers, Lincoln’s law papers, sheet music, broadsides, prints, cartoons, maps, drawings, letters, campaign tickets, and other ephemeral items. The books and pamphlets in this collection are scheduled for digitization at a later date.
The Olof Nelson Civil War Letters and Family History Materials collection primarily contains correspondence from Nelson to his family written while serving in the Union Army’s 55th Illinois Infantry during the American Civil War from 1864 to his discharge in 1865. In Addition, there are muster Roll Calls from his enlistment, the pension and death records of Nelson and his wife Jennie, articles of his family history, and a photographic history of the Civil War. This collection gives insight into the lives of Swedish immigrants.
The following documents have been reproduced from the published volumes of The Papers of Jefferson Davis. They appear as they are printed, with spelling, grammar, punctuation, and abbreviations as written.
"The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865," presents documents related to all aspects of Southern life during the Civil War. In particular, government and civilian publications demonstrate the Confederate States of America's unsuccessful attempt to create a viable nation state. This collection includes over four hundred Civil War era maps, broadsides, photographs, printed works, Confederate currency, and manuscript letters and diaries.
The Civil War and American Art (The Met)
This "exhibition considers how American artists responded to the Civil War and its aftermath. Landscapes and genre scenes—more than traditional history paintings—captured the war's impact on the American psyche. The works of art on display trace the trajectory of the conflict and express the intense emotions that it provoked. . . ."
The Civil War and American Art (Smithsonian American Art Museum)
Included are "75 works—57 paintings and 18 vintage photographs. The artworks were chosen for their aesthetic power in conveying the intense emotions of the period."
Winslow Homer's Civil War
"After the outbreak of the Civil War, 25-year-old artist Winslow Homer traveled to the front to sketch scenes of the conflict's participants and engagements for Harper's Weekly, the country's premier illustrated newspaper."
Richard Samuel West, historian of cartoons and popular publications and founder of New England’s Periodyssey, discusses the range of topics in and formats of political cartoons published during the Civil War and delineates how the medium changed over the course of the conflict.
Abraham Lincoln Cartoons: Comic Portraits of His Presidency (HarpWeek)
Civil War Era Collection: Political Cartoons (Gettysburg College)
Ohio Civil War: Cartoons (Ohio Historical Society)
Political Cartoons of the Civil War (this is a PDF)
Civil War Political Cartoons (The Library Company of Philadelphia)
Scartoons: Racial Satire and the Civil War (American Studies at UVA)
American Civil War in Missouri: Sheet Music (State Historical Society of Missouri)
