LibGuides: HIS 332: America in the Age of the Civil War: Secondary Source Articles

What is a Secondary Source?

Secondary sources were created by someone who did not experience first-hand or participate in the events or conditions you’re researching. The books and articles you're using for this class are examples of Secondary Sources.
A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. Secondary sources may contain direct material from primary materials.

Use these databases to find scholarly (secondary) articles about your historical topics.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature related to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistorical times to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide including key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, and state and local history journals, as well as books, dissertations and book reviews. Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.